Be Thou My Vision

Gallery
Info
Comments

  • I was driving home from Biz yesterday (that’s Bismarck, ND, in case you were wondering!), and I listened to one of my favorite hymns being sung by a Celtic group called Eden’s Bridge from their album The Best of Celtic Praise and Worship.  It was so lilting and beautiful.  I listened to the words carefully this time:

    Be Thou my vision O Lord of my heart
    Be all else but naught to me save that Thou art
    Be Thou my best thought in the day and the night
    Both waking and sleeping, Thy presence my light.

    Be Thou my wisdom, be Thou my true word
    Be Thou ever with me and I with Thee Lord
    Be Thou my great father, and I Thy true son
    Be Thou in me dwelling, and I with Thee one

    Be Thou my breastplate, my sword for the fight
    Be Thou my whole armour, Be Thou my true might
    Be Thou my soul’s shelter, Be Thou my strong tower
    O raise Thou me heav’nward, great power of my power.

    Riches I heed not, nor man’s empty praise
    Be Thou mine inheritance, now and always
    Be Thou  and Thou only, the first in my heart
    O Sov’reign of heaven, my treasure Thou art.

    High King of heaven, Thou heaven’s bright sun
    O grant me its joys after victory is won
    Great heart of my own heart, whatever befalls
    Still Thou be my vision, O ruler of all.

    As I listened to this beautiful hymn, I thought of a photo that a young friend of mine had taken and given to Kris and I for a gift.  She is graciously allowing me to post that photo here as well as a couple of photos of herself.  Her name is Morgan Joy Mattheis.  She is aptly named… she has a fountain of joy inside her because she loves her Lord.  It doesn’t always show, but I know it is there.  Please enjoy her photo as my photo-of-the-day today!

  • I would love to hear from you!

    